My sports editor received an email from a reader who was angry that a friend and fellow fisherman had recently received a $200 ticket in Texas for not having a tag on his boat trailer.
Oklahoma law does not require boat tags on trailers. Texas does and it is subject to a $200 fine, but Oklahoma anglers normally haven’t experienced this problem in Texas.
I know many anglers who have been fishing in Texas for years and pulling a boat and have never been ticketed or even asked about a boat trailer tag. I don’t know the circumstances surrounding this man’s ticket because he didn’t respond to my request for an interview.
I did talk to Joe Lunn, deputy director for the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission, who also expressed surprise that an Oklahoman traveling in Texas would be ticketed for not having a trailer tag.
Most states recognize the validity of a visitor’s registration, especially in a border state such as Texas, he said.
However, Lunn said there is an optional license plate that Oklahomans can buy for trailers just to avoid this kind of situation. Cost of the tag is $7 and it can be bought at any Oklahoma tag agency.
Lunn said a tag likely would have to be ordered by the tag agency because so few people buy them.
So if you are going on a fishing trip outside Oklahoma and plan on pulling a boat, you might consider investing $7 in a trailer tag just to be safe. If you run into the wrong cop, you might get a ticket.